Derby City Mom

I’ve been thinking about starting a blog for almost 5 years now. At first, I thought that I might want to have a food blog that I was going to title “Whisks and Witticisms.” My sister rightly pointed out that with such an ambitious title, I was setting the standard pretty high to always have something witty to say. Right…I’m not that clever.

And so my desire to blog stayed in the corner of my mind while life kept moving. Job changes for myself and my husband, a Master’s degree, and a sweet baby boy distracted me until I read the post of a college friend who was starting her own blog. It was the push I needed to bite the bullet and commit.

Thus was born Derby City Mom, a forum for me to keep a record of my quickly-growing son, an outlet for me to write (which has to be something I treat like homework. Life is busy for this full-time teacher mom!), and a pain for me to enjoy my city more. I grew up close to Louisville, but never ventured much further than the mall or the movie theaters. Even after living here for almost 6 years, there is so much here that I’ve been missing out on.

Like all moms, I want to be the best version of myself as I can possibly be, as a wife, mom, employee, and even just as a citizen of such a great place to live. And, like all moms, I fall short. All. The. Time. This is my sanctuary–my opportunity to embrace the imperfection and just live.

Leave a Reply

