Little Man and Food

Little Man's first Thai.  He loved the satay chicken!

Little Man’s first Thai. He loved the satay chicken!

I’m a pretty adventurous eater.  It wasn’t always that way, but many years of Food Network and friends who eat sushi helped push me toward restaurants and entrees that I wouldn’t have normally chosen.  I’m pretty much up for anything.

My husband, on the other hand, is pretty picky. When we first started dating, he had three meals that he would rotate on our date night dinners: chicken Parmesan, burger and fries, and chicken tenders.  He’s become more adventurous in the time we’ve been together–I got him to try seafood on our Caribbean honeymoon and *gasp* he liked it.  I remember telling him pretty early on in our relationship that I was going to make different foods when we were married, and that he didn’t have to pretend to like them, but he had to at least try them.  He ordered beans and onions on his Five Star chili today for lunch.  He’s come a long way.

When I was pregnant with Little Man, I read all I could find about helping babies develop a wide palette and how to avoid picky toddlerhood.  I tried to follow all of those recommendations.  He hates avocado, which just hurts my feelings, but he loves salmon, which thrills me.  He isn’t quite old enough to hit the picky toddler stage yet, but I’m hopeful that he won’t be as picky as his dad.  I’m trying not to care, but it’s a pride issue.  I judged my husband a lot for being so picky, and I don’t want Little Man to be like that.  Obviously, I love my child and am not planning on disowning him, especially over food preferences, but I really want to go on Mommy-Son dates to Thai places and sushi and…not just Chick-Fil-A.

Time will tell if he takes after his daddy in that way or not.  Luckily, I worked some magic on the husband’s palette.  Maybe lightening will strike twice.

Leave a Reply

