A Plan to Deal With Stress

The past several months have been stressful, to say the least. Work stress, kid stress, life stress, body stress, stress stress…it’s been a struggle.  

The month of April is going to be the apex of the stress. My students are working toward their two state-mandated standardized assessments that could affect my job, for better or for worse, depending on how they do. I will be taking an assessment and composing a portfolio piece for my National Board certification. My little man is busy busy busy all of the time. I have 6% of my body weight to lose. Plus my church life, my friends, my family, and my husband. And my sanity!

If I can make it to Derby, I will be okay. But I have to get there first.

Since I know that this upcoming month is going to be stressful, it seems prudent to make a plan to try and mitigate some of the stress. I have a plan for my National Board work. I have a plan and support system for work and my students. But I have to make sure I protect my sanity. How can I plan to not lose my mind? I decided that it was going to take forethought and organization.

Two things will help me protect my sanity more than anything else: staying healthy physically, and staying healthy spiritually. Both have to be intentional, which means I have to plan ahead and decide how I’m going to fit these choices into my day, rather than wait for a chance to fit them into my day.

For my physical health, I’m doing another round of 21 Day Fix. I’ve been kind of loosely following it since early January, but I’ve been too willing to skip workouts or eat crap when it suits me or I’m tired or whatever. I joined a challenge group for the first 3 weeks of April to give me some accountability with this.

For my spiritual health, I am going to stop snoozing as many times (why is snoozing so gloriously satisfying?) to be up early enough to read my Bible, do a devotional, and have some quiet meditative/prayer time before my day starts. I think I may start posting pictures of my quiet time/healthy foods/workouts on my Instagram every day to help keep me accountable. 

Following this plan is going to be essential to getting through this month. I just need to stay focused on my goals, especially the one where I don’t fall apart during the stressful times. I need to not be anxious, but give my requests to God, remembering that He cares for me.

Leave a Reply

