Update: Dealing with Stress

A few weeks ago, I made a plan and a challenge to myself to help me deal with the pressures of my life and the busyness of life right now. Since we are halfway through the month, I wanted to give an update on my situation.

One of my goals was to make my health a priority, and I’ve done really well with that. I have been eating a lot of veggies, fruits, and lean protein following the 21 Day Fix eating plan, and I’ve been working out regularly. Since the weather is finally spring-like, I am running outside 2 or 3 times a week and that has done wonders for my mood and stress management. I haven’t seen a difference on the scale, which I’m trying to not fixate on, but I feel stronger and more confident, which is more important anyway.

In keeping with my focus on my health, I went to the doctor last week to ask for some blood work to check my vitamin D levels; I have been told by a doctor that I most likely have Seasonal Affective Disorder, and this winter has been brutal as far as my mood and energy levels are concerned. I had already started taking a 2,000 IU supplement, but wanted to see where I stood with an official number. My result came back as a 34–30 is the lowest “normal” number. Obviously, I have been dealing with a deficiency if my supplement took me to barely normal. I’m going to finish the bottle of supplements that I have and then up the dosage to 5,000 IU, which is the highest I’ve seen at the store. That should help with my energy and moods more.

I’m also trying to find ways to treat myself more. Running in the sun, drinking tea on the way to school, snacking on almonds and dark chocolate, and listening to my favorite podcasts are easy, doable ways to help relieve stress, at least temporarily. 

Another goal I had made was to make my morning quiet time a priority. I have been reading a devotional every morning through an email subscription I have, but this is an area I need to make more of a priority. One of my pastors was recently talking about how he feels that the church in general doesn’t appreciate the reverence required to enter God’s presence, and that really hit home with me. I have been treating my morning devotional as a quick read to check off of my to-do list, when I should be treating it an essential part of preparing for my day. My job can be very emotionally and physically demanding, and I need to better equip my mind for whatever my day might bring.

With only 7ish weeks until summer break, I’m feeling much calmer about the busyness of my life right now. It is a season, and it will pass. In the meantime, I know what I need todo to help make this season happier for me and my family, and I’m excited to continue with my routine!

How do you stay sane when life gets crazy?

One thought on “Update: Dealing with Stress

Leave a Reply

