Worry making me weary?

Yesterday, I read a Proverbs 31 Ministry devotional that really hit home. The writer talked about being stressed and exhausted and overwhelmed, and started praying for God to show her where she could cut things out of her schedule to help her mental and spiritual state. She began to realize that instead of calling her to drop things out of her schedule, God was calling her to stop worrying about it so much. She realized that she was spending just as much time, if not more, worrying about her responsibilities as she did fulfilling them.

This really hit home for me. As I’m nearing the end of my National Boards process (for this year, anyway), the dates for my students’ two major assessments are looming, my kid is always sick, and my to-do list ever stops. As busy as I am, I’m making it worse by spending so much time and energy worrying about getting it all done, how I’m going to get it all done, how much time I’m spending away from my family, what my boss thinks of me, how much I’m worrying, and all the other things I worry about.

What a great reminder to truly cast my anxieties on Christ. He has not called to me to be something that is impossible, but has already equipped me to fulfill the roles I’ve been called to through Christ.

I encourage you to consider how much time you may be spending worrying about everything you need to do, as well. Remember that Jesus calls us to come to Him to find rest and to release those burdens! Check out my sweet friend’s post about choosing joy for more about this topic.

Leave a Reply

