My Weight Loss Journey Update

I posted a few months ago about my weight loss journey, and it’s time for an update.  I have come so far since I started this in January, and I’m really excited about my progress.

  
After seeing some results from my first round of 21 Day Fix in January, I hit a major plateau.  Basically from February to late April, I was only losing 1/4 to 1/2 a pound a week.  It was infuriating.  I was working out, following the eating plan 90% of the time, and really focusing on my health and fitness.  It was demoralizing and so frustrating.  I was literally yelling at my TV during my workouts when Autumn (the trainer and creator of 21 Day Fix) would say something like, “Stick with me and you’ll get to your goals!”  You know that scene in Legally Blonde where Elle yells “Liar!” and throws her chocolates at the TV?  That was basically me.  All of the frustration and feelings of failure that I dealt with last summer, not losing any weight at all, were coming back.

jwKBz

I was getting desperate, so I made three major changes with my routine.  First, I went back to working out in the morning.  For whatever reason, I was seeing results working out at 5:30 am instead of 3:30 pm, so now I’m an early bird.  I never, EVER thought I would be the kind of person who wakes up early to work out like I watched my dad do since I can remember.  I sometimes still can’t believe it, but I honestly enjoy it and have gotten used to it.

The second major change was texting my food diary to a friend.  She has lost an incredible amount of weight doing the same plan as me, and I knew she would have some insight into my eating choices.  She was able to point out some choices that, while not unhealthy, were probably sabotaging my goals.  Bye bye, Larabars in the afternoon.  So long, almond milk in my protein shakes.  It was nice while it lasted.

The last major change I made was…really hard for me to do.  I ordered Shakeology.  I know, I know.  It’s so expensive.  It seems too good to be true.  It’s so annoying to see all the Beachbody people on Facebook talk about it.  When I originally ordered my 21 Day Fix, I deliberately did not get the Shakeology because of the cost.  I was skeptical.  However, when I was following the plan and not seeing results, I decided to try it.  I figured that I would either break my plateau (yay!), or I would still not lose weight and know that I did EVERYTHING I could to get healthy.  Once I tried it, I knew there was no going back.  It was so good!  I got the chocolate flavor, and it is sweet, filling, and really does taste like a treat.  I add in a banana and two teaspoons of natural peanut butter and blend it all with water, 4 oz of unsweetened almond milk, and 12ish oz of water.

When I liked the Shakeology so much, I was really embarrassed about it.  i don’t really know why.  Honestly, my cynical self had mocked so many people on social media for their constant praise of it, and here I was agreeing with them.  It made me feel guilty.  But, you know what?  It helped me.  I lost more weight. I feel better.  I’m not struggling with my energy as much.  I’m not dragging through my day as much.  I’m not emotionally and mentally exhausted when I get home to my family.  I have more patience with my busy, BUSY toddler.  I have more patience with my students at work.  I am more positive.  I am more focused and able to be more productive.  I come home ready to play with my child, instead of collapsing on the couch.  How amazing is that?!?

  
The biggest result of these changes is how I feel about myself.  I watched my friend work so hard to lose weight and get healthy, and I was in awe of her.  I was so inspired to try and do what she was doing, but I never really thought it would work for me.  Success stories like that were for other people, not me.  I was a failure.  I wasn’t active during pregnancy like I had imagined, I gained more weight than I ever planned on, and I wasn’t doing enough to lose it in the time frame I had put upon myself. Now that I’ve done the program and tried Shakeology, I feel a lot more confident about myself.  I no longer feel that success with health and fitness is for other people, but it can be for me, too.  I  have realized that my health/fitness is a journey, not a destination.  I can give myself more grace now because I appreciate the ebbs and flows of fitness.  I feel strong, confident, and healthy.  I couldn’t say that 6 months ago.

  
I’m not done with my journey yet, but I am fired up to continue the progress I’ve had so far for myself and for other people, too.  I signed up to be a BeachBody Coach (shameless plug alert!) because I want others to feel strong, confident, and healthy, as well.  This isn’t something that is for other people: it’s for you, too.  I want to help YOU reach your goals, find your confidence, and give yourself the success that you don’t think you deserve.  You deserve it!

Do you want to be stronger and more confident in your own skin?  Leave a comment below and we’ll take the journey together!

3 thoughts on “My Weight Loss Journey Update

  1. Whitney!! You are AWESOME!! WooHoo! Now, you almost have me convinced to join you! (Maybe you could whip me into healthy, confident, strong shape!) Hugs to you, friend!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

