Derby City Date Night: Lunch at Eggs Over Baxter

Last week, the Bread Man and I went for a date day lunch at Eggs Over Baxter deep in the Highlands on Bardstown Road.  We had never been there before, although we had tried to eat at Eggs Over Frankfort once but the wait was too long for Little Man to wait.

Their menu is a breakfast/lunch menu that has several options regardless of what you’re in the mood for: they have sandwiches, pancakes, french toast, omelettes, and platters that will certainly fill you up.  There are decadent options and healthier choices, as well.  The Bread Man got the “Everything” platter, which really did come with everything; he had french toast, scrambled eggs, breakfast potatoes, and bacon.  It was a lot of food, but somehow he managed to finish it off.

  
I was in the mood for lunch, so I got a portabella sandwich with mushroom, arugula, pesto, and goat cheese.  It comes on a brioche bun, but I swapped that for whole wheat bread.  You have the option to get chips or potatoes, but I just wanted more pickles!  I was one spear shy of a whole pickle.  I also got two eggs over medium for some protein–they were perfectly cooked!  The sandwich was really yummy dipped in the yolk.

  
We both really liked our food a lot.  The prices were comparable to other brunch options in the city, and we felt like we got a decent amount of food for the cost.  I loved the goat cheese/mushroom combo–it was filling without being too heavy, and the arugula gave the sandwich a fresh taste.  The Bread Man liked his breakfast, as well; the french toast was his favorite part, of course.  He wasn’t a huge fan of the potatoes; they were a little bland.  They were cooked really nicely, but lacked seasoning.

The restaurant was not busy at all when we went, but it was a 11:30 on a Tuesday.  Weekends are much busier!  Our server was really helpful and answered all my questions about the menu.  I always feel bad for our servers because I make so many changes to my order from what is listed in the menu.  But then I don’t feel that bad because making those changes has helped me get back down to my pre-pregnancy weight!  Woo hoo!  I would definitely recommend Eggs Over Baxter, but I also recommend that you try it out on a weekday rather than a weekend to beat the crowds.

Stay tuned for a post about how to navigate eating out when you’re trying to eat clean!

Leave a Reply

