Sweet Potato Oatmeal Chocolate Chip Cookies

I was too excited to put them in better lighting!

I was too excited to put them in better lighting!

I love to bake.  The measuring, the mixing, the sweet ingredients, the aroma of the food in the oven: I find it so relaxing and cathartic.  Since starting my journey to a healthier lifestyle, though, my baking has pretty much disappeared.  You can’t bake cakes, cookies, and muffins without stalling or reversing weight loss.  Or, at least I can’t.

Recently, I’ve really been missing baking.  Little Man is getting to the age where he can eat anything I cook up for him, and I have a lot of romanticized visions of making him cookies and pancakes and muffins that he can help me make and eat and enjoy.  Making memories, people.  I’d love it!

So I started a search for healthier, cleaner treats.  I pinned this recipe for sweet potato chocolate chip cookies and thought it sounded interesting.  When I looked at the actual recipe, I realized that it was just a regular cookie recipe with some sweet potato added in.  Not quite the healthier treat I was looking for.  I asked for some help on a healthy baking Facebook group, but didn’t have any of the specialized ingredients to replace the sugar and butter and flour.

So I just made something up.  I took what I knew about cookies and baking–the proportions of dry to wet ingredients, ingredients that would add sweetness, etc–and winged it.

The result is a really, really, really good cookie.  If you’re looking for something that tastes exactly like a traditional chocolate chip cookie, this isn’t it.  It has a doughier texture, even fully cooked, and the flavor is not quite the same because the ingredients are different.  But these cookies are an indulgent treat with a rich, chocolately flavor that satisfied my vision and my sweet tooth.

Enjoy!

Sweet Potato Oatmeal Chocolate Chip Cookies

(**This is an original recipe inspired by the pin, but all I used from the original source was the 3/4 cup sweet potato.)

1 cup white whole wheat flour

1 tsp cinnamon

1/2 tsp baking powder

1/4 tsp baking soda

1/8 tsp salt

1/2 cup oats (I used quick-cooking)

3/4 cup mashed sweet potato (1 medium sweet potato, roasted)

1/2 cup natural applesauce

2 tbsp raw honey

1 egg

3 tbsp coconut oil, melted (**Let the oil cool for a few minutes before mixing in so it doesn’t cook the eggs)

1 cup dark chocolate chips

Preheat the oven to 350. Mix the dry ingredients in a small bowl.  Stir to combine.

Whisk all the wet ingredients together in a large bowl.  Add the dry ingredients to the wet ingredients and stir to combine until well mixed.  Gently stir in the chocolate chips until distributed throughout batter.

Using a tablespoon measure, drop one spoonful of batter onto a parchment paper-lined cookie sheet, keeping each cookie about an inch apart.

Cook at 350 for about 8 minutes, rotating pans halfway through cooking.  Cookies will be lightly browned on top.

Cool on pans for 5 minutes, then transfer to cooling racks to let cool completely.  Keep in airtight container for 3-5 days.

Makes approximately 20 cookies.

One thought on “Sweet Potato Oatmeal Chocolate Chip Cookies

Leave a Reply

