The Magic Switch

I’ve been talking with several people this week about being ready to make a change.  Whether you want to lose weight, or eat healthier, or read more, or watch less TV, or whatever your self-improvement goal is, so many of us spend a lot of time thinking about it, talking about it, planning for it, and wishing for it, but it takes us a really long time to actually put any kind of action into making it happen.  Why is that?

I was talking to a friend the other day about how she wants to lose weight, but she just isn’t ready yet.  I so get that.  That was totally me.  I knew I wasn’t happy, and I knew I wanted to change, but I also knew that I wasn’t ready.  Some people would say to fake it til you make it and go through the motions anyway, but I think that would probably have just set me up for failure.  If I had lost any weight before January 2015, I would have gained it back and lost the little motivation I had.  There is definitely something to be said for waiting to act until that switch flips in your head.

But how does that switch flip?  How did I go from not ready to ready?  How does that happen?

I’ve been really reflecting on this, and then I went to the Louisville Super Sunday event through Beachbody this weekend and heard someone else say it.

Change happens when you want to change more than you want to stay the same.

Read that again.

Change happens when you want to change more than you want to stay the same.

That is the switch, folks.  Right there.  When your desire to stay the same is more than the desire to change, you’re “not ready.”  You would rather keep the easy route–the habits you’re used to–than go through the effort to change.  I’m not knocking that or shaming anyone here–there are some very valid fears and stresses that stop us from wanting to change.  I get it.  I lived it.  It’s all part of our journey.

But the switch?  The mental shift where you suddenly are ready for change?

You’ve just started wanting change more.  That’s where the magic happens.

Where are you today?  What do you want more–change, or the status quo?

When you’re ready for the change, I’m ready to help you.  Contact me when your switch gets flipped.

Leave a Reply

