How I Deal With Having No Meal Plan

We are still in the process of moving and are technically homeless right now.  We closed on and moved out of our house on Thursday, and aren’t able to close on and move into the new house until Tuesday.  So, we needed to find somewhere to stay for 4 days.  Luckily, my parents were gracious enough to let us stay at their house.

As far as a meal plan goes, I didn’t see much point in making one.  We ate as much food as we could before we moved out of our previous house, and with only 4 days between moves, it didn’t make a lot of sense to us to try and make meals in someone else’s kitchen when we are living out of suitcases.

When you’re in a situation like this, where you know you’re going to be eating out a lot more than normal, it can be very easy to completely abandon your clean eating lifestyle temporarily and just eat whatever you want.  It’s easy to tell yourself, “It’s only a few days.  I’ll get back on the clean eating wagon when we get settled/our trip is over/the kids are back at school/whatever your situation is.”

The problem with thinking like this is that it is VERY easy to get back in bad habits.  The more junky food you eat, the more you crave junky food.  The more days you go completely off your eating plan, the harder it is to get back in your clean eating lifestyle.  So, how do you deal?

I’m not an expert by any means, and I’m certainly not perfect, but I wanted to share how I’m dealing with this situation.  I still have health and fitness goals, and I’m not trying to gain weight over these few days between moves.  Here’s what I’m doing:

  • First and foremost, I relax.  You have to accept the fact that you’re not going to eat perfectly clean when you’re eating out a lot. Even if you order grilled chicken and veggies at every meal, there will probably be oils and butters that you don’t realize are in your food.  Stop trying to be perfect–just do the best you can with the choices you have and accept that you’re doing your best.
  • Follow my tips for eating clean while eating out.  Don’t just order the fried chicken and fries at every meal because it’s easy to choose.  Use your brain.  Look up the menu before you get there.  Make wise choices!
  • Don’t go out to eat when you’re starving.  Keep some healthy snacks on hand so that you aren’t completely famished and then make a poor choice just because you’re distracted by hunger.  For the few days we are here, I’m keeping bananas, freeze dried apple slices, Shakeology, frozen fruit, Quest protein bars, and natural turkey slices for snacks for me, Bread Man, and Little Man.  That way, I’m not tempted to go to a drive through or convenience store, and I can keep myself from getting so hungry that I order the first thing I see on a menu.
  • Keep your water intake up!  You should be drinking half of your weight in oz every day of plain water.  I do everything I can to keep this going when I’m eating out more so that I can flush the extra salt out of my system and keep my body properly hydrated.
  • Make a plan for when you’re back to your normal routine.  Tuesday night, I’ll be making a meal plan for the last few days of the week in our new house using my new Fixate cookbook, full of healthy meals.  We’ll be going to the grocery Wednesday morning to load up on our healthy foods.  I’m also planning to do the Beachbody 3-Day Refresh to get some extra superfood nutrition in my system and to kickstart a healthy school year.
  • Last, but not least, stay active.  Eating out more often than normal probably means that you’re eating more processed foods.  Keep your body active during these times so that you aren’t going completely off of your routine.  I’m still getting my workouts in every single day, not really to counteract what I’m eating, but to keep my fitness level up and to not get out of my healthy lifestyle.

I might be indulging a little more because of our current living situation, but I’m not abandoning my healthy lifestyle because of it.  Don’t use unusual circumstances as an excuse to eat with abandon!  Use your obstacles as opportunities to commit to your goals and show your friends and family how to be truly healthy.

Next week, I’ll be back in action with a meal plan for the first week back at work!  Have a great week, and don’t forget to subscribe to the blog so you’re the first to know when I’ve posted something new!

Leave a Reply

