Why I Love Morning Workouts

School started back up at the same time that we moved into a new house, and all the changes totally messed up my routine.  The new house is a little farther away from my job, and I changed my routine to make my workouts in the afternoons so I wouldn’t be running late for work every day and getting up at the crack of dawn–earlier than I was already getting up.

You guys, I missed my morning workouts so much.  That kick of endorphins in the morning, the quiet time as I cool down and gulp water, and the freedom in my schedule in the afternoons are amazing.  I love getting the workout out of the way and done before the day really starts.

Anyone who knows me well is probably reading this with shock.  I’ve said it before and I’ll say it again–I am not a morning person.  When I was in high school and college, I would sleep in as long as I could.  If I couldn’t fall asleep for some reason, I would literally cry. Before I had my little man, I would sleep until 10 or 11 on Saturday mornings.  My first year teaching, I would literally crawl into bed at night and call it my happy time.  Seriously.  I love my sleep.

But since making my health and fitness a priority as a wife, mom, and full time teacher, afternoon workouts just don’t work for me.  I’m tired at the end of the day, there are a million things to do, and the guilt I feel being away from my son and husband during prime family time is just too much for me.  So getting up early is my best option.

Do I jump out of bed with a smile on my face when my alarm goes off at 4:45?  No way.  And yes, you read that right.  4:45.  Who have I become?

But my fitness is important to me.  It makes me feel good.  It keeps me sane.  It helps my moods.  It helps my confidence.  I’m a better person when I am consistently working out, so I sacrifice a little sleep to get those benefits.

So many people tell me that they could never get up that early or that they love sleep too much–I was that way, too!  I still feel that way sometimes.  However, one day I decided that my desire to be healthy outweighed my love of sleep.  So I changed my habits.  It’s that simple.

Do I think everyone should do their workout in the morning?  Of course not.  But I do think everyone should work out.  Everyone should make fitness a priority–there are so many reasons to do it, people.  Find the time that works best for you.  It may take some trial and error, and it will require some kind of sacrifice.  But it’s so worth it.

Love your body.  Show it respect.  Prioritize your health.

One thought on “Why I Love Morning Workouts

Leave a Reply

