Getting Through a Slump

I love the fall.  I love the cooler weather, the changing leaves, and the impending holiday celebrations and all the family traditions that go along with it.  I love chili, lazy weekends, lounging in my sweats and slippers, and curling up with a blanket.  It’s such a great time of year!

But it’s also super stressful.  Like, super duper stressful.  School starts, vacation is over, new routines are picking up, schedules get busy again, and all of the wonderful holidays means lots and lots of events to attend, making my schedule even crazier.  And in my family, almost everyone’s birthday (and I do mean EVERYONE) in my family occurs from October to March.  It can be overwhelming at times, and that makes it easy to lose track of my health goals and slip back into bad habits.

That’s what has been happening over the last few months for me.  Moving and starting back at school and normal life busyness has taken a toll on me, and I haven’t been as on it as I want to be.  I’ve let my life circumstances overshadow my goals for myself.  I’ve allowed negative self-talk to take over my mind and to sabotage my efforts to continue seeing results with my healthy lifestyle.

As a result, I haven’t actually lost any weight since the end of May.  I’ve been successfully maintaining my weight all summer and into September, which is great, but I’m not where I want to be yet.  I am buckling down and getting back to the basics of healthy living to get back into my routine and getting back into results mode.

So what are those basics for me?  Maybe you’re like me and have fallen off the proverbial wagon, but you’re not really sure what to do to get back on again. Here are a few steps that I take to get back in gear:

  1.  Let go of the excuses.  Everyone has crap happen.  Everyone is tired.  Everyone is busy.  There are certainly legitimate issues that come up that need priority over our workouts or meal planning sometimes, but the majority of the time, we’re probably all just too comfortable in our bad habits to make a change.  Stop giving yourself an excuse to be unhealthy and decide to make your health a priority.  Simple, but powerful.
  2. Schedule your workouts and stick to it.  If you abhor the idea of getting up early, don’t try to workout early.  If you’re falling asleep at 7:30 pm, don’t try to workout at night.  Figure out what works best for you and then stick with it.  This is where your no-excuses thing comes in handy–working out is necessary to get where you want to be.  So just do it.
  3. Drink more water.  Swap your soda and sweet tea for water, at least part of the time.  It will give you more energy and help your body recover from your workouts.  You should be drinking at LEAST half of your weight in oz every day (so if you weigh 160, you should be drinking 80 oz of water).
  4. Plan your meals.  Plan everything that goes into your body, including snacks.  You know what healthy food is, and you know what it’s not.  Don’t buy those Oreos.  Don’t let your spouse buy the candy.  Don’t buy your kids the Toaster Strudel.  If it’s not in the house, it’s harder to eat it!   Stock your kitchen and pantry with healthy foods that you like, plan what you’re going to eat when, and stick to it for 3 days.  Give yourself 3 days, and I bet that your cravings will go down and you’ll start to feel better.  You will lose some bloat and water weight, and you’ll be motivated to keep going.

These are just a few tips to help you get back in the game.  I’m by no means an expert, but this has worked for me.  It’s hard to make a change, I know.  You have to make a daily choice.

What will you choose today?

One thought on “Getting Through a Slump

  1. Pingback: Getting Out of A Rut–Again! | Derby City Mom

Leave a Reply

