Veggies for Breakfast!

I struggle with breakfast.  I have my Shakeology with fruit and some healthy fat, but I need something else to satisfy my hunger in the mornings.  Usually I have some kind of carb, like whole wheat toast or oatmeal, but since I don’t eat very many carbs when I’m actively trying to lose weight, it limits what I can eat later on in the day if I “waste” a carb first thing in the morning.  I mean, I’m not even awake enough to enjoy it!

This past week, I went off of my plan a bit.  I didn’t eat really terrible things or anything, but I had too many carbs and not enough veggies. By Tuesday morning, I was literally CRAVING veggies.   So much so that I heated up some roasted Brussels sprouts and ate them on my way to school.  Who am I??????


It got me thinking about coming up with some kind of veggie dish that didn’t have carbs or added protein that I could have in the mornings to add some volume to my meal, to fill me up, and to keep carb options available for later in the day.  I did some Pinterest-searching, but everything I found had potato or oatmeal or eggs.  Not what I was looking for.

Then I saw some recipes for sweet potato hash, and I got to thinking…what if I took out the potato and added in more veggies?  Something like mushrooms, that would add bulk and substance but still just be a vegetable?

And so my veggie hash idea was born.  I haven’t actually done it yet, but I’m really excited to try it.  I’m sure that I’m not a genius who is the first person to ever come up with this idea, but it’s new to me.  Here is my plan:

1 container mushrooms, quartered.

Chopped white onion, about 1 cupish

Chopped bell pepper (probably 2 or 3 peppers)

2 minced garlic cloves

1 tsp olive oil or coconut oil

salt and pepper to taste

1 tbsp cumin

1/2 tbsp chili powder

1/2 tbsp paprika

1/4 tbsp cayenne pepper

Combine all ingredients and cook in a skillet on medium-low heat until onions are translucent and peppers are soft.

That’s it.  Pretty simple, but with good flavors that I know I like and ingredients that I like, too.  And it can be easily adapted to add in different veggies depending on my mood, like eggplant or zucchini.  And if you want to add a meat, you can. Or eggs, or potato, or whatever you feel like.

I’m excited to try this idea out for a few days and see how it goes.  Vegetables give you so much bang for your buck nutritionally, and I’m excited to start my day with even more nutrition than I’m already getting through my Shakeology!

What is your favorite way to eat veggies for breakfast?

2 thoughts on “Veggies for Breakfast!

  1. Stuffed scramble….scrambled eggs with peppers, onion, spinach, mushroom…whatever veggies I have, and and some lean diced turkey. I’m a failure at omelette so I opt for this 😊 My hubby prefers cheese thrown in there, but I save it for lunch or snack later in the day.

    Like

Leave a Reply

