Derby City Mom’s Clean Eating Thanksgiving Part 1–Chipotle Maple Roasted Sweet Potato

I love hosting Thanksgiving.  It can be overwhelming and stressful, but I love planning a meal, finding recipes, cooking good food, and hosting our families in our home.  I’ve hosted Thanksgiving for 4 years now, ever since we moved from an apartment to a house.  This year, we will have 22 people in our home, including 3 toddlers.  I can’t wait!

This year, as healthy eating is really a lifestyle and a priority for me, I have found myself trying to figure out how to make healthier options for our meal.  Now, I’m not planning on making only healthy dishes–first of all, I can’t cook all the food for 22 people by myself, and second of all, not everyone in my family is committed to healthy eating all the time, especially on a holiday.  I’m not about forcing my family to eat what I think should be eaten.

While I’ve asked my family to bring some of the traditional dishes like mac and cheese and banana pudding (my father-in-law’s speciality!), I am planning on several clean eating versions of traditional recipes.  I wanted to share my plans with all of you because I know I’m not the only one struggling to find a balance between indulgence and nourishment!

The first recipe I am tweaking is for Chipotle-Maple Mashed Sweet Potatoes.  I’ve made this a couple of times, and the flavor is awesome.  The pureed texture, however, just doesn’t do it for me.  For whatever reason, pureed or mashed sweet potato is gross to me.  I like the flavor, and I like roasted sweet potato, but I just can’t do pureed.  The original recipe also calls for butter and milk, which can defeat the purpose of trying to eat healthier.  While dairy isn’t necessarily unhealthy, it is unnecessary in this case and brings in extra calories and extra bloat!  No thanks.

The recipe below is my interpretation of the original, but altered for health and for roasting the sweet potato instead of mashing them.  The recipe below is for 2 sweet potatoes, which should easily serve 4-5 people.  I’m planning on 1 chipotle per potato and 1 tablespoon maple syrup per potato.

Enjoy!

Roasted Chipotle Maple Sweet Potatoes

2 medium sweet potatoes, peeled and cubed

2 chipotle peppers in adobo, minced

2 tablespoons 100% pure maple syrup

Pinch of salt

Heat oven to 400.  Combine all ingredients in a large bowl and mix until potato is evenly coated with maple syrup and pepper.  Spread potato mixture on a large cookie sheet lined with aluminum foil and/or sprayed with coconut oil cooking spray.  Roast potatoes for 20 minutes, or until tender, stirring halfway through to prevent sticking.

2 thoughts on “Derby City Mom’s Clean Eating Thanksgiving Part 1–Chipotle Maple Roasted Sweet Potato

  1. Pingback: Meal Plan and Workout Schedule Nov 7-13 | Derby City Mom

  2. Pingback: Derby City Mom Clean Eating Thanksgiving Part 2–Healthier Homemade Stuffing | Derby City Mom

Leave a Reply

