My 2016 “Resolution”

This time of year makes most of us think about our goals, or resolutions, for the upcoming year.  They’re always the same, right?  Lose weight, eat healthy, take a vacation, read more books, spend more time with family, spend less time working, etc.  And then the vast majority of us abandon those resolutions within the first two months of the year and we have the same lives we’ve always had.

Last year, I really wanted to make a change and didn’t want to just make a resolution and forget about it.  I had heard someone talk about choosing a focus word for the year instead of making resolutions, and I decided to give it a try.  I spent a lot of time thinking about the different goals I had and discovered that they all had one thing in common: they would take a lot of work and motivation to make them happen.  So my word for 2015 was discipline, and it was really successful for me.  I became more disciplined in pretty much every aspect of my life and met all of my goals!

Since it was successful last year, I decided to do the same thing this year.  I spent some time thinking about my goals: for my health, for my personal life, my relationships, and my business.  The common thread between all of them is that they require a lot of continued discipline.  I decided to make my focus word for 2016 consistency.

I want to be consistent in my health habits, my business building habits, and several other aspects of my life to meet the goals I have.  I have a lot of big plans for 2016, and they are going to require a lot of focus and grit–sucking it up when I don’t feel like it and doing what needs to be done.  I can’t rely on momentum from going in spurts; I need continuous momentum from consistency to make these goals realities.

I am excited to chase after my dreams for 2016!  What will your focus be this year?

One thought on “My 2016 “Resolution”

Leave a Reply

