Clean Eating BBQ Sauce

Another day, another clean eating version of a yummy sauce!

I’ve been feeling like I’m in a food rut lately–eating the same things makes my life simpler, bu tit can also get boring.  I’ve been looking for healthy ways to mix it up without spending more time in the kitchen, and sauces seem to be the way to go for me lately.

I found this recipe from The Bewtichin’ Kitchen via Pinterest.  I really liked it, but I’m going to make a few tweaks for next time.  First, I had to use chicken broth instead of beef because the seal on my beef broth was tampered with.  Yikes!  Second, I thought the sauce was a little too tomatoey for me.  I will probably halve the amount of tomato paste next time (and use beef broth!) and see how that goes.

It was still a really yummy sauce!  Not as sweet as the bottled stuff, but we don’t need all that sugar anyway, right???  It was a huge bonus that this was really low maintenance and fast–30 minute cook time and a 5 minute prep.  You can make this sauce while you cook your protein and use the most of your time.

I’m going to be using this sauce for chicken, burgers, and salmon!

Clean Eating BBQ Sauce (from Bewitchin’ Kitchen)

1 1/2 cups beef broth

2 tsps minced garlic (I just minced two cloves)

5.5 oz can tomato paste

3 tbsp pure maple syrup

1 tbsp apple cider vinegar

2 tbsp dijon mustard

2 tsp paprika

1 tsp onion powder

1 tsp chili powder

1/2 tsp cumin

1/2 tsp sea salt

1/2 tsp cayenne pepper.

Heat broth and garlic in a medium saucepan over medium heat to a simmer for 5 minutes.

Add the rest of the ingredients.  Simmer on low for 25 minutes, stirring occasionally.  Remove from heat and let cool to room temperature.  Put in air tight container and keep in the fridge.

One thought on “Clean Eating BBQ Sauce

  1. Pingback: Meal Planning Tips and Meal Plan 4.3-4.8 | Derby City Mom

Leave a Reply

