Clean and Easy Shrimp Bowl


One of my biggest struggles in meal planning is lunch. I only have 20 minutes to eat lunch during the work day, so whatever I eat has to be filling, quick, and easy to travel with.  The easiest thing to do is just have leftovers from dinner the night before, but sometimes the leftovers don’t fit the lunch criteria and I need to figure out something different. Other times, dinner is so delicious that we eat it all and don’t have any leftovers!

Those are the times that I find myself scrounging through the freezer and pantry for something to throw together for lunch the next day–that was how this meal was born.  I found a bag of frozen shrimp in my freezer, a can of diced tomatoes in my pantry, and a bag of onions on my counter.  Put it all together, and voila!  An easy, cheap, filling, clean meal.

Clean and Easy Shrimp Bowl

1 14.5 can diced tomatoes, no salt added

1 lb bag frozen shrimp, deveined and peeled

1 medium sweet onion, chopped

1 tsp olive oil or coconut oil

1 tbsp each oregano and basil

1/2 tsp red pepper flakes

2 minced garlic cloves

 

Cook shrimp according to package directions and set aside.

Meanwhile, heat oil in a medium skillet over medium heat.  Add onion and cook until translucent, about 8 minutes, stirring frequently.  Add diced tomatoes, garlic, and spices.  Cook, stirring frequently, until fragrant, about 5 minutes.  Add cooked shrimp and simmer together for 10 or more minutes to let the flavors blend together.  Serve warm!

Makes 2-3 portions, depending on your appetite.  I split it into two portions and counted it as 1 green and 1 red container.

Enjoy!

 

One thought on “Clean and Easy Shrimp Bowl

Leave a Reply

