Deconstructed BLT Pasta

One of my favorite dinners is a BLT pasta I got from an old Rachael Ray magazine.  It has pesto, bacon, and tomato, which are all some of my favorites.  (I can’t find the original recipe or I would link it).  It’s an easy recipe, but not really helpful when I’m trying to follow my eating plan.  It’s not terrible, but pesto is super fattening and has more calories than I would prefer.  Plus, it’s kind of expensive!  I know I can make my own pesto, but it’s just not the same.


My husband requested this pasta dish for dinner recently, and I wanted to oblige without sabotaging my own eating plan.  This deconstructed version was created.  It’s still pretty easy, and it reheats well.  You could eat it cold if you were in a rush, but it’s better warm.  You can also switch out the ingredients to fit your taste–you could do shredded chicken instead of bacon, or diced onion or red pepper instead of tomato, or kale/spinach instead of basil.  It’s very versatile!

Deconstructed BLT Pasta (adapted from Rachael Ray)

1 lb whole wheat penne, cooked according to package directions

1/2 lb thick cut bacon, cooked and chopped

1 pint cherry tomatoes, halved

2-3 tablespoons finely chopped basil (fresh)

1/4 cup extra virgin olive oil

3 tablespoons grated Parmesan cheese

1-2 garlic cloves, minced or pressed

1/2 tsp salt

1/4 tsp black pepper

 

Put cooked penne noodles in a large saucepan or serving bowl while still hot.  Add the minced garlic and olive oil and stir to combine, allowing to sit for 5-10 minutes.  Add salt and pepper, mixing to combine.  Add tomatoes, basil, cheese, and bacon.  Stir to combine.  Best when served warm.

Serves about 6.

Leave a Reply

