Clean Eating Philly Cheesesteak

IMG_4874.jpg

 

This recipe was one I took a chance on, and I’m so glad I did.  I’m not really a huge steak fan, but my husband is, so when I was looking for some new clean eating recipes to fit the new program I’m doing for the next three weeks, I knew this was one he would probably like.

I made the stuffed pepper version (which is the original recipe) for myself since I’m not eating any bread but Ezekiel Bread right now, and my boys both had theirs as sandwiches. The stuffed pepper piece is pretty easy to skip, and the filling was very simple.

IMG_4876.jpg

The orginal recipe calls for flank or flat iron steak, but we couldn’t find that at our grocery, so I had my husband pick out whatever kind he wanted.  I was still able to slice it pretty thinly!  I also didn’t have a red pepper like the original calls for, so I used an orange pepper.  I personally don’t taste a difference between red and orange peppers,  but if you do, make sure you have a red one.

There were a couple of ingredients that I swapped/left out because they aren’t on my current eating plan.  I left out the Worcestershire sauce because it isn’t on my plan, and I used mozzarella cheeese instead of Provolone.  It was so tasty!  When I’m done with this three week plan, I’d like to make it again with the Worcestershire sauce to see how that changes the flavor.

If you don’t like stuffed peppers, you could eat this filling in a bowl, over a spinach salad, or on sprouted grain bread for the sandwich.

Clean Eating Philly Cheesesteak (slightly adapted from Fit Mom Angela D)

2 green peppers, sliced in half from top to bottom and seeds and ribs removed

1 tbsp olive oil

1/2 orange pepper, diced

1 yellow onion, diced

4 oz mushrooms, sliced

3 garlic cloves, minced or pressed

1/4 tsp salt

1/4 tsp pepper

1 lb steak, sliced very thin

1/2 cup shredded mozzarella cheese

Preheat the oven to 400 F.  Spray a 9×13 baking sheet to grease it and set aside.

Boil 3 cups of water in a large saucepan.  Place the green peppers in the water and boil for 3-5 minutes, until peppers are tender.  Remove from water and set aside.  If they are very wet, place face down on a paper towel to drain some water.

Meanwhile, heat the oil in a large skillet.  Cook the diced pepper, onion, mushrooms, and garlic until the peppers are soft and the onions are translucent.  Add the salt and the pepper.  Add the steak and cook until steak is cooked to desired doneness, stirring frequently to prevent sticking.

Spoon the filling into the pepper halves to overflowing.  Top evenly with cheese.  Bake in the preheated oven for 10 minutes, until cheese is browning and bubbling.  Serve warm!

21 Day Fixer? 1 serving is 1 green, 1 red, 1/2 blue, 1/2 tsp.

 

2 thoughts on “Clean Eating Philly Cheesesteak

  1. Pingback: Meal Plan 9.4-9.10 | Derby City Mom

  2. Pingback: October 2016 Recipes | Derby City Mom

Leave a Reply

