Clean Coffee Sweeteners

I’m a recent coffee convert.  I’ve always randomly enjoyed coffee, but only when I have added a lot of cream, sugar, and flavor.  I’ve always been more of a tea girl, but I’m southern through and through, so I can’t do unsweet.  I’ve weaned myself off of completely sweet, but half and half sweet tea is my favorite.  I have gone months and months drinking half cut tea every single day.  Delicious, but not the best when you’re trying to tone up and lose a few pounds.

13511043_859271966443_4792328211679652542_n

When I started 21 Day Fix Extreme, I knew that I needed to just stay away from tea completely or I would end up having a ton of sugar that not only isn’t on my plan, but that could sabotage my results.  I opted to have some hot coffee in the mornings instead; I knew that I had one coffee sweetener that was clean, and it was really tasty!

Except that it includes maple syrup, which is NOT on the Extreme eating plan. #oops.  So I came up with another version of coffee sweetener that stays in line with the Extreme plan, still tastes good, and gets me some caffeine in the mornings.  I’m posting both versions–both are clean, one just has less natural sugar.

You’ll notice I’ve labeled the ingredients PURE vanilla and PURE maple syrup–this is a big deal, folks.  They are more expensive, yes, but they are also what makes this a CLEAN coffee sweetener.  The fake stuff is processed, FAKE, and it doesn’t taste as good.  I find the fake junk leaves a weird after taste, and it’s fake added sugar.  No thanks!

By the way–if you’re wondering why maple syrup is better than pure sugar, it has to do with how your body metabolizes it.  Maple syrup and honey are natural sugars that are easier for your body to digest and don’t spike your blood sugar as much. The more you know!

12642965_786009708171245_2576313863083749713_n

Whitney’s Clean Coffee Sweetener

1 tsp pure vanilla extract

1 tbsp unsweetened vanilla almond/coconut/cashew milk

1 tbsp pure maple syrup

 

Whitney’s EXTREME Clean Coffee Sweetener

1 tsp pure vanilla extract

1 tbsp unsweetened vanilla almond/coconut/cashew milk

1 serving liquid stevia

Leave a Reply

