Cashew and Oat Pancakes

When I started 21 Day Fix Extreme, I was a little disturbed by the limited carb options on the meal plan.  I love carbs.  Sadly, processed carbs are a huge problem for my digestive system, they cause a lot of bloating for me, and they hinder a lot of progress in my health and fitness journey.  Any time I find a recipe that fits my meal plan and still tastes good, I’m all about it!

When I saw this recipe in the Extreme eating guide, I was really skeptical.  The recipe kind of seemed like they would end up really dense and chewy–aka gross.  I gave it a shot, though, and I was pretty pleasantly surprised.  These are denser than a regular pancake, but the flavor is really good and they are lighter than I expected.

IMG_5101

The original recipe calls for you to top these pancakes with mixed berries, but you could also top it with some nut butter and/or pure maple syrup.  The Extreme eating plan doesn’t allow for maple syrup, so I’ve been topping them with sliced banana or some sliced strawberries and blueberries.  I’ve also taken them with me to the zoo and the park and eaten them alone.  They definitely taste better with something sweet, and fruit is a more nutritious option.  If you are working to lose weight or avoiding traditional wheat flour, these are a great option to still feel like you’re indulging!

***You do need a food processor or large blender to grind up the oats and cashews!  I use my food processor all the time, so it would be a great investment if you don’t already have one in your kitchen.  These also keep well in the freezer–just pop them in the microwave for 30 seconds to 1 minute and enjoy!

21 Day Fix Extreme Cashew and Oat Pancakes 

2 cups rolled oats

1/2 cup raw cashews

Dash of Himalayan salt or sea salt

1/2 tsp cinnamon

1 large egg

1.5 cup water

1 tsp pure vanilla extract

1 tbsp coconut oil, melted

Combine oats, cashews, salt, and cinnamon in a large food processor or blender.  Pulse until coursely ground.

Add the egg, water, vanilla, and coconut oil.  Blend until completely mixed.  The batter should be thick, but if it is paste-like, add one or two tablespoons of water until it thins out a bit.

Heat a small skillet or griddle and spray with coconut oil.  Scoop out 1/4 cup of batter and cook for 2-3 minutes, until bubbling around the edges.  Flip and cook for about 30 more seconds.  Set aside to cool and repeat with remaining batter.

Yields about 10 pancakes. 2 pancakes=1 serving and 1 yellow container.

Leave a Reply

