My 21 Day Fix Extreme Experience

If you’ve been following me for a while, you know of my love for 21 Day Fix.  It was the first program I started with, it was what helped me lose my baby weight, and it basically started the process of me completely changing my life.

But after almost a year and a half of doing it almost exclusively, I was more than ready to change it up and do something different.  So I signed up for 21 Day Fix Extreme.  Honestly, I was kind of scared.  I knew the workouts were super intense, and I knew that the eating plan was stricter than what I was used to.  I wasn’t sure that I could do it!  I wasn’t sure if I wanted to feel like I was starting over with my fitness–going back to feeling totally out of shape and having to modify everything.

I also knew that those were fears that I NEEDED to face.  I was scared, but I needed to be scared.  I had grown complacent with my fitness and nutrition, and I stopped pushing for better results.  That led to a 10ish lb weight gain over the school year, and I needed to PUSH myself to start losing those lbs!

I started the day after we got home from vacation–so I was bloated and had spent most of the week eating junky.

I was NOT happy with these before pictures.  I felt so fluffy and gross.  It was definitely a great start because I was DETERMINED and motivated to be successful and have awesome after pictures!

The Extreme program is set up really similarly to the regular 21 Day Fix.  There are food lists of approved foods and the color coded portion control containers, but the Extreme food lists are a little shorter, and you don’t get the 3 “treats” (like wine and chocolate) in the Extreme program.  It’s 100% clean eating for 21 days.  There is also an optional Countdown to Competition plan you can follow for the 21 days, or just the last three days.  The C2C plan is basically carb cycling–1 day of the Extreme eating plan, 2 days of very low carb, very high protein eating plan.  I did the C2C plan the last 3 days and it did make a difference!  I don’t think I would do that plan the whole 21 days because super low carb makes me….really witchy.  My poor family can’t handle that, and neither can I!

The workouts are similar in that they are 30 minutes, and there is a different workout for each day of the week, but the intensity is definitely up a few notches from the regular 21DF program.  I was struggling through these workouts for the first week, and I was SO SORE the first week.  This is where mind over matter comes in–when you struggle through a workout, it hurts your ego and makes you feel like you’re not doing a good job and really just makes you want to quit.  That is when you have to remember WHY you’re doing the program in the first place and just keep going!  By week 3, the workouts were easier for me and I was modifying them way less.  I loved noticing that difference and knowing that I was getting stronger, and in such a short amount of time, too.

This program was great for me!  I was determined the whole time and followed the eating plan 100% for the first two weeks.  I had three cheat meals the last week–my wedding anniversary was that week and we went on two date dinners, and I decided to indulge with no guilt!  The third cheat was my first day trying the C2C eating plan–early in the week, it didn’t go well at all.  I was STARVING and irritable and ended up binging at the end of the day.  I did a couple more days of the regular Extreme eating plan, and then the last three days of the C2C plan 100%.  Even with those three cheat meals (and in the last week!), my results were great!

 In 21 days, I lost a total of 6.2 lbs and 5.25 inches.  I lost 1.75 inches in my waist, 1.5 inches in my hips, 1.5 inches in my thighs, and .5 inch in my arms.  You can see in the pictures the difference, too!  Everything is smaller.  I was really excited to see that!

I’m not ripped with a six pack or anything, but I know that if I really wanted to have a six pack, I could do it with this program.  It pushed me to be stronger, physically and mentally, and it helped me bust through a mental plateau I’ve been struggling with for months.  I’m really excited to continue with the program through the end of July!

It’s amazing what you can accomplish in three weeks when you have the right tools and the right support.  If you are ready for some 21-day results of your own, I can help you!

Leave a Reply

