Blueberry Lemon Muffins

My son loves blueberries, so I’m always looking for different ways to use them.  He is so happy just eating them fresh out of a bowl, but I love to make new things that all of us can enjoy.  I found this old recipe from my favorite blogger, and I’m so glad I brought it back!

These muffins are light, moist, and have a great blueberry flavor.  The original recipe calls for a sugar topping, but since I forgot to add that and they were still great, I left that part out of the recipe I’m sharing below.

If you love blueberries or have a little one who loves them, put these on your to-make list!  ***I count one muffin as a yellow treat in the 21 Day Fix eating plan.

Blueberry Lemon Muffins (slightly adapted from Annie’s Eats)

2 cups white whole wheat flour

1 1/2 tsp baking powder

1/2 tsp salt

4 tbsp coconut oil (melted)

1/2 cup sugar

1/2 cup unsweetened cinnamon applesauce

2 large eggs

1/2 cup plus 2 tbsp buttermilk (I used heavy cream and it was fine!)

2 tsp vanilla extract

Zest and juice of 1 lemon

1 pint fresh blueberries

 

Preheat oven to 350 F.  Line a muffin tin with paper liners and spray with cooking spray to grease.  In one bowl, combine flour, baking powder, and salt, stirring to mix.  In a large mixing bowl, whisk the coconut oil and sugar together until well mixed.  Whisk in the applesauce.  Add the eggs, one at a time. Stir in lemon zest.

In a liquid measuring cup, combine the buttermilk, vanilla, and lemon juice.  Stir to combine and set aside.

Add half of the flour mixture to the sugar/applesauce mixture and mix well.  Add all of the liquid and mix well.  Add the rest of the flour mixture and mix well.

Fold in the blueberries gently with a rubber spatula.

Using a 1/4-1/3 cup measuring cup, fill muffin tins about 2/3 full with batter.

Bake for about 24 minutes, rotating pans halfway through, until toothpick comes out clean from the muffins.

***I usually put half of the baked muffins in the freezer after they have completely cooled.  They keep really well frozen and are still yummy microwaved!

 

Leave a Reply

