Getting Out of A Rut–Again!

Almost exactly a year ago I wrote a post about being stuck in a rut and how to get out of it.  It is so funny to me that I’m feeling almost the same way now at the same time of year, but in a totally different life situation.

I thought that once I decided to stay home full time and leave a job that left me feeling really unhappy and anxious and depressed and stressed ALL THE TIME would mean that I would somehow magically transform into a super fit person.  Without the stress, without the time constraint of the job, without the unhappiness that came with the stress.  What has happened in reality, however, is totally different.

Last August when we moved into our new house, I was the most fit I have ever been.  I was at the lowest weight I’ve ever been since before getting pregnant (like, way before getting pregnant) and was feeling really awesome.  And then school started, and it was a really tough year for me.  I was really unhappy and posted about it a little on here.  Lots of stress, exhaustion, and anxiety. Over the course of the school year, I gained about 10 lbs and went up a couple of inches.  I was consistently working out and working on my nutrition, but not eating clean consistently enough to see the results I wanted.  I know that part of my weight gain was stress, too–it affects your body so much.

When the school year ended, I was really looking forward to focusing on my health more and being able to get back to where I want to be with my body and fitness level.  But to frank, that hasn’t happened.  The adjustment to being a stay-at-home mom was a lot tougher than I thought it would be, even though I expected some tough transition time.  We had a busy summer and it felt like we were constantly traveling, so I wasn’t able to get into a good routine for a couple of months.  My husband’s job has a semi-flexible schedule, too, so that means that sometimes he is home and wants to just hang out with me, which made it hard to get into a routine.  My toddler tornado decided that mommy staying home was the perfect time to give up naps, so that “me” time I thought I would get to workout or meal prep or work my business disappeared with no warning.

I haven’t been great at dealing with the constant changes.  I’ve always been an emotional eater, and this summer has been no different.  With all the changes and tantrums and interruptions and struggles, I’ve not dealt with it in the healthiest way, so instead of getting fitter and having my measurements go down, they’ve kept creeping up.

I know that this struggle is really common and a ton of moms go through it, but it’s been hard for me to face that I’ve let my health go so much.  I’ve not been sleeping well/enough, I haven’t been planning and preparing healthy food for my days, I haven’t been following my workout program, and I haven’t been eating clean.  It’s embarrassing, but that’s my reality right now.

Sometimes I feel like I have to be perfect all the time because I’m a coach.  But that’s not reality and that’s too much pressure on myself.  I’m a person with weaknesses and flaws, just like everyone else, and my health is a journey that I will have to constantly reassess and refocus and deal with the struggles.

The best part of being a coach in this situation, though, is being so EMPOWERED to know exactly what I need to do.  I don’t have to worry and wonder what in the world I should do to get myself out of this rut–I know exactly the steps to take.  And they’re simple!  I have a team of fellow coaches around me, and I have my challenge group and fellow challengers to help me along the way.  The support I get every single day despite my struggles energizes me to work toward my goals.  I’m flipping the switch in my mind and instead of focusing on the slip-ups, I am focusing on how far I’ve come–physically, mentally, and emotionally–than when I started my health journey almost 2 years ago.

Are you in the same boat as me?  Struggling with your health and needing some extra motivation and encouragement?  I’d love to talk with you and have you join me on this journey together!  Contact me through the links at the top of the page or email me at wweaver0@gmail.com.

Leave a Reply

