My Specific “Getting Out of My Rut” Plan

Earlier this week I shared the struggles I’ve been having with my health and fitness.  Thank you so much for the support you’ve sent me over the past couple of days!  It always helps to know that you’re not alone in your struggles–one of my favorite things about being a coach! ❤

I wanted to share my plan for getting out of my rut.  The steps are really simple, but it’s definitely not easy.  It will require dedication, a positive mindset, and help from my support system!

  • Making specific goals, both directly tied to my measurements and non-scale goals.  For the rest of the month, my goals are
    • Not skip any workouts (following 21 Day Fix Extreme)
    • Follow my clean eating plan with no cheats (meaning no sweet tea, no white bread, no candy/desserts–these are my biggest issues)
    • See the number on the scale go down
    • See the measurement numbers go down (I’m not making specific number goals because I can’t necessarily control how much I lose, but as long as it’s a downward trend I’ll be happy)
  • Planning and prepping my food.  I’m going to spend Saturday mornings meal planning, and Sunday night/Monday morning meal prepping.  For me, that means including snacks and lunches in my plans.  If I don’t plan specific foods for snacks, I end up eating junk that doesn’t help me get to my goals.
  • Reminding myself of my goals every day–this will include my short term goals (what I already went over), but also my long term goals.  I want to get back down to my weight/measurements from a year ago, and I want to be able to fit into my size 4 jeans comfortably.  I was almost comfortable in a 4 a year ago, and now my size 6 jeans are kind of tight.  Yikes).
    • Reminding myself about my goals helps me remember that I can’t be looking for instant gratification, and helps energize me when I’m lacking motivation.
  • Giving myself more accountability with my workouts by working out with my husband.  I’ve been struggling to get up with my alarm and get my workout in, which has caused me to miss several workouts in the past few weeks.  Now that my husband is getting up and working out with me, we are both encouraging and challenging each other to stick to the program.  Plus, we are both pretty competitive.  I want to keep being able to use the heavier weights.

img_6329

 

  • Staying accountable to my challengers by posting my food more often.  Since food is what I’ve really been struggling with, I want to post more of it in my groups and on my social media to help hold myself accountable to what I’m doing.  We have daily check ins with each other, too, and I want to be able to say that I rocked my nutrition every single day between now and the end of the challenge (which is Oct 2nd).

This is my plan right now.  I’m trying to be disciplined with myself, but also be realistic that I may need to be flexible on certain days.  I’ve been way too relaxed and lazy in the last few months, and my body and the way I feel really shows that.  I’m excited to tighten up my discipline, tighten up my body, and share the journey along the way!

One thought on “My Specific “Getting Out of My Rut” Plan

  1. Pingback: 3 by 30 | Derby City Mom

Leave a Reply

