3 by 30

In just a few months, I’ll be turning 30 years old.  I thought that perhaps I would feel depressed or weirded out by this, like I did when I was turning 25, but honestly I’m really excited.  I am doing exactly what I want to be doing with my life and where I feel called to be–at home with my son, focusing on my family, and spending more time helping people change their lives.  I’m less stressed, I’m happier, and I’m content with this season of my life.

It’s been a trend on blogs and throughout the internet world to come up with a list of 30 things to accomplish before you turn 30 (or while you are 30), and I’m debating coming up with a list like that.  In the meantime, I have a few fairly major goals that I want to accomplish before my 20s are over.

My biggest goal that I want to focus on for the next 3 months is losing 20 or more pounds.  I have 15 weeks between now and my birthday, and if I can lose 1-2 lbs per week for those 15 weeks, I will have lost at least 20 lbs.  That is a huge goal for me, but it’s also realistic.  I’ve gained some weight over the past year, but most of it has been in the last 6 months or so since I have been preparing to leave teaching and adjusting to staying home.  I laid out my plan to get out of my rut last week, and this goal just gives me something concrete to work toward.

My next goal is to get on a better schedule for myself.  I’ve been having a lot of trouble sleeping, which means I’ve been staying up too late, waking up in the middle of the night, turning my alarm off in my sleep, and sleeping until Liam wakes me up to start our day.  Even though I don’t have a set “start” time to clock in as a stay at home mom (well, I guess whenever Liam wakes up) that I HAVE to be up and ready to go, I have things to get done that are really hard to accomplish if I don’t get up earlier.  I am going to be following the “miracle morning” routine (and I’m doing a free group for it next week on Facebook!) to help me get my workout, Bible study, and personal development reading done before anyone else wakes up in my house.  I’m also joining an accountability group with other women who are doing this routine for the next 90 days to help my accountability and motivation with this.  It’s always easier to accomplish your goals when you have some like-minded people to help you!

My last goal is related to the first two–I want to continue to build my business!  I love helping people get healthy, running challenge groups, helping people figure out how to overcome struggles on their journey, and just talking with people!  I’ve taken a step back from those activities just a little bit over the past couple of weeks to focus on myself and really get a plan of action together for taking care of ME, and I’m really excited to get back into a routine with my business, too.  Because of my weight gain and my sleep issues, my business has suffered a little bit because I’ve been spending my days trying to fit in the things that I should be doing in the mornings.  I’m really excited to see how focusing on my first two goals will help with my third goal!

Life is all about seasons and balance.  There will always be ups and downs.  The key for me right now is giving myself some grace with where I am, making goals for where I want to be, and knowing that I can get where I want to be because I’ve done it before!

Do you have any goals for the end of 2016?  I’d love to hear them!

Leave a Reply

