My 3 Day Refresh, Round 2

This summer was really hard for me.  I was a new stay at home mom struggling to get used to a new routine with a toddler who doesn’t really adjust well to change. It was stressful, and I’m a stress eater.  So I ate.  And I’ve put on more weight that I’m not happy with, and once I got my head on straight and my emotions in order with the stress of the summer, I was ready to make a change.

img_0003

I decided to try the 3 Day Refresh again, which is a 3-day program that is basically a vegan diet with some supplement drinks.  It’s lower in calorie than I would normally eat, but I needed to reset my body and diet and I do better with something that is very structured and already laid out for me, rather than just “eating healthier” on my own.  I did the 3 Day Refresh program just over a year ago, but since I did it the weekend that we were moving, I feel like I didn’t really do it the best way since lugging heavy boxes up and down stairs all day isn’t recommended.

I started on a Friday and ended on a Sunday so that I could start working out hard on the first Monday of the month and follow my new workout plan.  The Refresh plan is pretty straight forward–lots of water, LOTS of fresh veggies, some healthy fats, a little fruit, and the supplement drinks.  I still drank my Shakeology every morning, but I just blended it with water and ice instead of my usual recipe.  I had a Fiber Sweep drink as a midmorning snack, and a Vanilla Fresh protein shake with lunch and dinner.

img_0005

The Fiber Sweep drink was exactly like I remembered it–citrus flavor, super thick texture.  It isn’t thick like a milkshake, unless you let it sit for too long (which honestly is about 5 minutes; you have to drink it fast!), but kind of like thick water.  Not my favorite, but not as horribly gross as a drink titled “Fiber Sweep” might sound.  And it didn’t make me run to the bathroom like you might think, either.  It made me a little gassy, but didn’t affect me in a dramatic way like a fiber drink could.  It filled me up as a small snack and helped tide me over to the next meal time.

The Vanilla Fresh drinks are pretty tasty, especially when I blended some fruit with it.  I didn’t do that more than once, because I wanted to actually chew my food to help my brain realize how much I was eating.  I was afraid that if I mixed in fruit with my shakes that I would end up feeling hungrier.  I don’t know if that’s a real thing or not, but it made sense to me!

Before starting, I was really concerned that I was going to just feel like I was starving all the time.  I didn’t remember feeling super hungry last year, and I didn’t go back and read my blog post because I wanted a fresh experience, but I was concerned that maybe the stress and busyness of moving that same weekend distracted me from what I was feeling.  This time around, I felt pretty hungry, mostly/especially in the mornings.  Until lunch each day, I was basically on a liquid diet–Shakeology with fruit, tons of water, some herbal tea, and the Fiber Sweep.  Not a whole lot of actual volume, even though the Shakeology and the Fiber Sweep are both full of a ton of nutrients that my body needed.  Lunch, afternoon snack, and dinner options were much more filling and I felt pretty satisfied with those options.  In fact, I chose a salad option for two of my three dinners, and it was SO MANY VEGGIES that I could barely finish.  It took my about 20 minutes to just eat the salad because I had to force myself to chew it–not in a “this doesn’t taste good” way, but more in a “I’m tired of chewing” way.  Lol.

One amazing thing that I realized on Day 3 is that even though I felt hungry, I didn’t have ANY specific cravings.  In the mornings I wanted to have food to chew, not just drink, but the nutrients in everything I was eating was giving my body exactly what it needed because I didn’t crave anything specific.  No bread or carb cravings, no sweets cravings, no meat cravings.  Even when I went to the pumpkin patch and watched my whole family eating–chili, hot dogs (ew), funnel cake, BBQ, etc–I wasn’t sitting there drooling and wishing I could eat what they were eating.  I was sitting there wishing I had all my veggies to eat!  That was pretty awesome to realize–I was giving my body what it needed and I wasn’t craving the junk that it doesn’t need.

The biggest negative for me, besides just being hungry in the mornings, was the major bloating I experienced on day 1.  A little Google search has me thinking that since my diet was so off before I started the Refresh, my body had more that it needed to get rid of and wasn’t used to all the fiber it was getting through the Fiber Sweep and all the veggies, which makes sense to me.  It was crazy bloating!  I was very gassy and uncomfortable most of the first day, and that night after I had all my food and water for the day, I swear I looked like I was 5 months pregnant.  It was unbelievable!  That was hard for my mindset and my pride, because frankly part of the reason I did the Refresh was so I could have a “win” with my body.  I needed the structure and the quick gratification for my own motivation, and the crazy bloating made me think that maybe I had made a mistake.  But once I started reading about other people experiencing that as well and the connection to a bad diet before, I felt better and knew that the Refresh was going to help me at least feel better, if not look better, too.

Sunday night--after eating all my food and drinks for the day!  No food baby belly!

Sunday night–after eating all my food and drinks for the day! No food baby belly!

When I woke up the next day and compared pictures to just 24 hours before, I couldn’t believe how different I looked!  It was amazing to me what 24 hours of super clean eating can do for you.  That was all the motivation I needed to keep going.

24 hours difference!

24 hours difference!

Ultimately, I lost 4.2 lbs and 1.5 inches, mostly in my belly area.  More importantly than that, I feel better.  I feel better physically–lighter, more energized, not sluggish, and just generally healthier.  I feel better mentally/emotionally–taking care of my body helps my mindset, makes me feel proud, makes me more confident, and makes me more comfortable in my skin.  I’m fitting into my pants better, and I’m motivated to continue!  (I do realize that the short time frame means that I lost water weight and not actual fat, but that’s okay!  I still feel awesome!)

The results from my 3 Day Refresh.

The results from my 3 Day Refresh.

I didn’t feel this way last year, but I would definitely recommend this program!  It was the structure I needed to jumpstart clean eating again without cheating, it gave me some instant gratification to help my motivation, and it gave me some results that motivate me, as well.

Do you need some structure and some quick motivation to jumpstart your health journey?  Contact me and let’s connect!

wweaver0@gmail.com

wweaver0@gmail.com

Leave a Reply

