Roasted Balsamic Brussels Sprouts

I never, EVER thought that I would like Brussels sprouts.

I don’t remember having them as a kid, but they were part of the Thanksgiving meal at my college–cooked with bacon and maybe brown sugar?  I tried them because I like pretty much anything with bacon, but they were HORRIBLE.  As a part of the cabbage family, they can be very bitter, and I don’t love bitter foods like kale and other greens.

Like most people, I had basically written Brussels sprouts off as gross until my friend Deb shared this recipe with me.  There are many variations of this recipe on the Internet, and I really don’t know who to attribute this one to, but it is GOOD.  If you like balsamic and mustard, just try it.  I know that Brussels sprouts have a bad rep in general, but give it a chance!  They are so healthy and a great, nutrient-dense veggie option.

I’ve made these as posted here, and I’ve also made them with chopped white onion and a some minced garlic.  That adds some more flavor and a little more veggie power.  You could also roast this with bacon, because, well, bacon.

Roasted Balsamic Brussels Sprouts

2 cups Brussels sprouts, ends chopped off and halved (or quartered if they are large)

1 tbsp olive oil

1-2 tbsp balsamic vingar

pinch of salt and pepper

1-2 tbsp of mustard (any kind you like) for dipping

Preheat oven to 400 F. Mix all ingredients together in a medium bowl until Brussels sprouts are evenly coated.  Spread in a single layer on a large cookie sheet lined with either foil or parchment paper.  Roast Brussels sprouts for 15-20 minutes, until slightly browned and softened. Serve with mustard and enjoy!

 

2 thoughts on “Roasted Balsamic Brussels Sprouts

Leave a Reply

