Whole30 Garlic Bacon Avocado Burger

This burger was the first Whole30 recipe that I made for myself, and I am SO GLAD that I found it!  This made 4 burgers for me to eat from all week, and it was just as delicious every time.

The salty bacon and creamy avocado worked really well together, and I love anything with garlic!  It was a little bit of a struggle for me to find Whole30-compliant bacon–the eating plan calls for no nitrates/nitrites and no added sugar, and every single package of bacon I picked up at the store had sugar!  That has been the biggest shock for me in doing this program; there is sugar in EVERYTHING!  I ended up driving across town to Whole Foods to find compliant bacon.  It was so good!  I had it as a whole piece and crumbled up in the burgers, and it was delicious both ways.  It was definitely more expensive than I want to pay for bacon, so it will be a treat in my Whole30 rather than a staple, but I’m glad to know where I can find it.

I had to drive across town to find bacon that didn't have any added sugar.  Totally worth it!

I had to drive across town to find bacon that didn’t have any added sugar. Totally worth it!

 

I made a couple of changes to the original recipe, and I actually made a couple more changes after I made it.  For me, the garlic flavor was too fresh and almost spicy–instead of smashing the cloves as the original recipe calls for, I would either roast the garlic cloves and roughly chop them, or finely mince fresh garlic.  I also added a chopped jalapeno, which added a nice flavor.  I topped my burger with caramelized onion and dipped it in yellow mustard and it was so good!  With the avocado, it was easier to eat it sliced on the side, but you could also mash it and spread it on top of the burger.

These burgers would go great with any veggie and some kind of roasted or mashed potato.  Obviously, I didn’t have mine with any bun, and I would recommend that you skip the bread, too.  With this many flavors in a burger, you don’t want to cover any of them up with bread!  Try it bunless and see how you like it!

 

img_1325

Whole30-Approved Garlic Bacon Avocado Burgers (slightly adapted from The Pike Place Kitchen)

1 1/4 lb ground beef

4-6 slices no sugar added bacon, cooked and crumbled

3 cloves garlic, finely minced OR roasted and chopped

1 jalapeno, seeded and diced

salt and pepper to taste

1 sweet onion, sliced and caramelized

1 avocado

 

Combine the beef, bacon, garlic, jalapeno, and salt and pepper until well mixed.  Form into equal patties.  Cook on a grill (or stovetop on medium-high heat) until cooked to your liking (I like medium).  Top with caramelized onions and avocado.  Goes well with yellow mustard!

Leave a Reply

