Coconut Curry Chicken Meatballs

I love to cook, and I love to try new things.  With a toddler, I tend to not be very adventurous with what I make–when we find something he likes, we make it every week! I know I should be more adventurous to help him be a more adventurous eater, but that’s usually a battle I don’t choose. All my toddler moms can relate, right?

I’ve been having a great time during this Whole30 looking for new recipes to try and eating foods that are way outside my norm.  This recipe was the second one I experimented with, and it was an instant hit!  I’ve been steaming or roasting cauliflower and serving myself the meatballs and sauce over the cauliflower, and it is to die for.  Seriously, this recipe rivals curry dishes that I’ve had at restaurants.  And I love the meatball recipe on its own–I really want to figure out a different way to serve the meatballs with a different sauce or in a different dish altogether, because they are so moist and flavorful!

Since I was the only one eating this meal, it made me 4-5 meals.  I used one cup of cauliflower and 3 meatballs as a serving for myself and counted it as 2 teaspoons, one green, and one red for my container system.

Coconut Curry Chicken Meatballs (from The Bewitchin Kitchen)

For the meatballs:

  • 1/2 cup roughly chopped carrots
  • 1/4 red onion, chopped
  • 2 tbsps freeze dried cilantro
  • Juice of 1 lime
  • 2 tbsps basil
  • 1 tbsp coconut aminos (or soy sauce if not Whole30)
  • 1 tsp ground ginger
  • 1 clove garlic
  • 1/2 tsp ground cumin
  • 1/4 tsp red chili flakes
  • 1/4 tsp each sea salt and pepper
  • 1 lb ground chicken

 

For the sauce:

  • 1 can coconut milk (unsweetened and full fat–in the Asian foods section of the grocery)
  • 1 tbsp red curry paste
  • 1 tbsp almond butter
  • 2 tbsp lime juice
  • 1 tsp minced garlic

 

Preheat oven to 400 F.  To make the meatballs, place all of the ingredients except the chicken in a large food processor and pulse until finely chopped.  Move to a large bowl and add the ground chicken.  Mix thoroughly with your hands into 1 inch meatballs (they will be gooey and really wet, but like the original recipe says, that’s okay!  They will cook just fine).

Place meatballs on a large cookie sheet greased OR lined with parchment paper.  Make sure you use a cookie sheet that has lips on all 4 sides–I didn’t and these meatballs dripped all over my oven and made a huge mess!  And don’t just think you can use a drip pan–I ruined a drip pan because the drippings went under the foil on the drip pan and burnt to the pan.  Just use one with 4 lips.

Put in oven and bake for 20 minutes, turning halfway through.  Check with an instant-read thermometer–once the meatballs reach 165 in the middle, they are fully cooked.  (The original recipe calls for the meatballs to be cooked for another 20 minutes, but I made mine smaller and they only needed 20 minutes.  Rely on the temperature of the meatballs to ensure that they are fully cooked, not just on the time.)  Once they are cooked, set aside.

To make the sauce, put the full can of coconut milk in a saucepan over medium heat, stirring until heated through and all solids have melted.  Add all other sauce ingredients and stir to combine.  Simmer for 10 minutes, stirring constantly.  Add the cooked meatballs and stir, simmering for 2-3 minutes.  Remove from heat and serve over cauliflower.

IMG_7315

Am I the only one who can’t take good pictures of food?

Leave a Reply

