Super Simple Whole30 Breakfast

IMG_0820.JPG

I normally have my Shakeology for breakfast–it’s fast, it’s easy, and it’s a great post-workout drink when I do my early morning workouts.  For the past few weeks, though, we’ve been finishing our basement and I have temporarily lost my workout space, so my workouts have to happen when everyone is up so I don’t wake them up with my burpees and squat jumps.  That means I am saving my shake until later in the day when I’ve done my workout, leaving me in need of some good Whole30-compliant breakfast meals.

I still want something easy and relatively quick, and I’m not always in the mood for a casserole to eat off of all week.  Enter this really simple, completely compliant, and super easy breakfast.  It has a carb, a protein, a healthy fat, and a veggie to start off my day, it is full of energy for my day, and it tastes good.  It’s extremely versatile, too–at the end of the recipe I’ll give you a few variations to help you find something to fit your tastes.

Super Simple Whole30 Breakfast

1 Aidellis Chicken and Apple Sausage, cut into bite-sized pieces

1/2 cup diced potato (of any variety–I like sweet potato and gold potatoes)

1 small sweet onion, diced

1 teaspoon coconut oil or ghee

Salt and pepper, to taste

Garlic powder and onion powder, to taste

 

Melt the coconut oil (or ghee) in a medium saucepan over medium heat.  Add diced onion and diced potato, and cook until potatoes are soft and onions are translucent (about 8-10 minutes), stirring constantly.  Once they are cooked, add the salt, pepper, garlic powder, and onion powder and stir to combine.  Remove from pan and put in a bowl.

Add sausage pieces into the pan and cook until browned and heated through, stirring constantly to prevent sticking.  Once it’s done, add to the bowl with the potatoes and onions and enjoy!

Variations: You can sub in any lean protein: 2 eggs, ground beef/turkey/chicken–as long as it’s Whole30 compliant you are good to use it!  If you aren’t following Whole30, you can use breakfast sausage, the homemade breakfast sausage from the Fixate cooking show, chorizo, etc.

Instead of diced potato, you can use frozen hashbrowns, or you could take out the potato and put an extra veggie in.

If you don’t like onion, you can use any veggie–diced mushrooms, broccoli, cauliflower, chopped Brussels sprouts, etc.

For Whole30 toppings, you could top this with Frank’s Red Hot sauce or chopped avocado. If you’re not following Whole30, you could add cheese on top.

 

Leave a Reply

