Gluten-Free Blueberry Waffles

Before I was even halfway done with my Whole30, I had already decided to be gluten free in my post-Whole30 life. This is not something that I took lightly, especially considering that my husband is a bread salesman!  I love bread, and I love that bread supports my family, so it feels a little messed up to not eat gluten, but I am feeling so much better without it that it just doesn’t make sense to me to go back to what I was eating before.  That kind of negates the whole process of going through Whole30 in the first place!

Since I made the decision to be g-free, I’ve been looking for different GF recipes that I can try once I’m done with my 30 days of no grains at all (check out my Pinterest board here).  This waffle recipe looked amazing, and it’s been tested and approved by my gluten-loving husband AND toddler!  That’s a definite win in my book.

These were easy to throw together, and cooked up nicely—thick and crisp like a waffle should be.  You could bump up the blueberries and forgo any syrup if you wanted to lower your sugar, or you could be normal and bring on the maple syrup!  My guys had these both ways and loved it either way.

Enjoy!

Gluten-Free Blueberry Waffles (slightly adapted from Gluten-Free Homemaker)

1.5 cups gluten-free all purpose baking mix

1 cup unsweetened vanilla cashew or almond milk

2 eggs

2 tablespoons butter, melted (I used ghee, and you can also use coconut oil)

1/2 cup honey

1 tsp pure vanilla extract

1/2 cup blueberries

Preheat waffle iron. 

Mix all ingredients except blueberries until fully incorporated.  Gently fold in blueberries.  Pour 1/4-1/3 cup batter into waffle iron for each waffle and cook to desired crispness/until fully cooked throughout.  If desired, top with more blueberries, sliced bananas, diced pecans, and/or pure maple syrup.

Cooked waffles keep well in the freezer, so feel free to make a double batch to have some on hand for a quick breakfast!

2 thoughts on “Gluten-Free Blueberry Waffles

    • Good question! I get all of my gluten-free supplies at my local Kroger in the natural food section, though some groceries have the gluten-free flour with the regular flour. I got a 1 lb bag (maybe 2 lbs?) for right around $4, so it’s definitely more expensive, but I’m also not planning on making gluten-free baked goods on a regular basis, so it should last me a while.

      Like

Leave a Reply

