Everyday (Paleo) Meatloaf

My husband LOVES his momma’s meatloaf.  I have never really been a huge fan of meatloaf in general, but I’ve tried several different recipes that haven’t been a traditional recipe to find something that he and I could both enjoy.  None of them have been hits with him, though, so I just haven’t made meatloaf in a really long time.  When I saw this recipe looking for Paleo meals, I knew I had to try it because I was pretty sure it would be a hit with everyone!

I am so glad I tried it, because I was right!  This is so simple and SO GOOD.  The original recipe calls for 1 cup almond meal and 2 eggs, but I went for the note of omitting the almond meal and just using 1 egg.  The original also calls for 6 tbsp tomato paste, which I didn’t have on hand, so I used some leftover marinara on top instead.  It was so good!

I’d love to try to add a few more veggies into this recipe to bulk up the veggies, but I may have to work up to that so my husband doesn’t know what I’m up to!

Everyday Meatloaf (slightly adapted from Everyday Paleo by Sarah Fragoso)

2 lbs lean ground beef

1 egg

2 tsp minced garlic

1 red onion, finely diced

1/2 tbsp sea salt

2 tsp black pepper

2 tbsp dried basil

2 tsp marjoram

1/2 cup marinara

Preheat oven to 350 F. Combine all ingredients (except marinara) in a large bowl, using hand to combine until well mixed.  Put meat mixture in a lightly greased 9×13 glass pan and form into loaf.  Bake 30 min.  Top meatloaf with marinara, using a spoon to spread evenly over the top of the entire loaf.  Bake 30 more min or until meatloaf is completely cooked through (use an instant read thermometer to ensure it’s completely cooked–ground beef should be cooked to an internal temp of 160).  Remove from oven and let rest for 10 min before serving.

I served this with green beans and homemade sweet potato fries!  It would go well with basically any veggie.

 

Leave a Reply

